MIT Sea Grant College Program

Director: Chrys Chryssostomidis | Email | Website

Associate Director for Research: Eric Adams

77 Massachusetts Ave. • E38-300 • Cambridge, MA 02139 • (617) 253-7041

The MIT Sea Grant College Program was initiated in 1970, and in 1976 the Massachusetts Institute of Technology was formally designated by congress as a Sea Grant College. Our rigorous research program, dedicated outreach programs and integrated educational projects are aimed at providing real-world solutions to coastal questions and at helping to create the coastal stewards of tomorrow. For our current Strategic Plan, click here.

MIT Sea Grant sponsors a wide variety of marine research, through an annual funding competition open to Massachusetts university-based researchers. Our in-house research includes the work of the Autonomous Underwater Vehicle (AUV) Lab, and the Design Lab for naval architecture and systems. The MIT Sea Grant Marine Advisory Services group conducts applied research in coastal habitats, marine bioinvasions, water quality, climate change, fishing communities and policy, and offers innovative, hands-on marine science education programs.

Topic 1. Climate Change

  • Development of an Inundation Forecast System for Massachusetts Coastal Waters (Changshen Chen)
  • MIT Sea Grant Climate Change Symposium: Sustaining Coastal Cities (Judith Pederson)
  • New High Fidelity Numerical Model to Mitigate Coastal Flooding Problems (Stefano Brizzolara)
  • Quantifying Carbon Storage in Eelgrass May Help Scientists Mitigate Global Warming (Juliet Simpson)

Topic 2. Marine Robotics

  • Designers of the Odyssey Class Autonomous Underwater Vehicles (AUV Laboratory Staff)
  • Reef Explorer (REx): autonomous surface vehicle supporting a tethered AUV (AUV Laboratory Staff)
  • Wireless recharging at sea (Michael DeFilippo)
  • Sea Perch: supporting introduction of STEM in K-12 education (Kathryn Shroyer)

Topic 3. Exploring New Frontiers

  • Advances in system-level and component-level cooling in marine vehicles (Hessam Babaee)
  • Metamaterials research in the marine environment (Chathan Cooke)
  • Biomimetics (Michael Triantafyllou)
  • Integrated Engineering Systems Design (George Karniadakis)